top of page
  • Writer's pictureChinchilla

Spicy TanTan Udon Noodle

If you like spicy noodle,then you have to try this easy soup noodle.

Traditionally, Tantan noodle soup made with sesami paste with pork broth and pork or beef mince on top.


Before I become vegan, this noodle was one of my favorite eat out dishes. fortunately, there is a restaurant that serves amazing vegan Tantan noodle in Tokyo called T's tantan. However, I'm back to Auckland now so I have to make the food that I miss from Japan.


I didn't have ramen noodles so I used Udon instead.


I think I added a bit too much TVP but I loved it!! I cooked TVP with garlic, ginger, chili paste and soy sauce so I wan't bored eating it even it was heaps of them in the soup.







Tantan noodle


Ingredients


・2 or 3 packages Udon noodle or Ramen noodle

・700mls water

・1 cup TVP (minced)

・1/2 cup spring onion (minced)

・1 teaspoon ginger(minced or grated)

・3/4 tablespoon(add 1 tablespoon if you like spicy) Chili paste

S1 cube or 1 1/2 tablespoon vegan chicken broth

S1 tablespoon vinegar

S1 tablespoon soy sauce

S1/2 teaspoon sugar

・3 tablespoon tahini

・1/2 teaspoon rice bran oil and 1/2 sesame oil

・1 teaspoon salt


Direction


Soaked TVP in a water about 20min, until it becomes soft.


1, heat oil in a pan over medium heat


2, add TVP, spring onion, ginger and chili paste. stir until fragrant about 3 minutes.


3, take 2 tablespoon of TVP of the pan and keep it for topping.


4, add water into the pan bring to a boil, reduce the heat then add all S ingredients. stir gently.


5, put tahini in a small bowl and add some soup from the pan and whisk it until it become completely liquid. then add it into the pan. simmer for 10 minutes.


6, cook the noodle according to the package instruction.


7, place the noodles in bowl. cover with soup, and top with TVP and coriander or spring onion if you like.

If it becomes too spicy or salty, you can add 1 tablespoon any non dairy milk such as soy or almond into the soup.


It's a perfect meal in cold weather!!


I hope you enjoy this Tantan noodle ;)



Byecha!

22 views0 comments
bottom of page