top of page
  • Writer's pictureChinchilla

Easy Creamy Vegan Spinach Pesto with sun dried tomato

I planted spinach in my garden a few month ago, and it has grown very slowly.

However, when I came back from my holiday in Japan all my spinach were ready for harvest.


I cut some and used for stir fried noodle, soup or pasta, but it keeps growing.

I remember that one day, my neighbour told me she made basil pesto as her basil has been

growing heaps and also she gave me some. I can make pesto with spinach, can't I?


I looked up for basil pesto recipe. It's really simple and I was sure I can make my own spinach pesto.


Mine is not as greeny as other people's pesto as I added some soy milk to make it creamier.

I like the colour anyway. I might used this recipe for Halloween too!


It's very simple and super easy too!!

If you have a lot of spinach I highly recommend to make one as fresh spinach doesn't last long.




Creamy Spinach Pesto sauce


・1/2 cup Cashews (soaked in water over night or boiled for 15min)

・1 tablespoon Olive oil

(if you prefer oil free you don't have to use it)

・3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

・3 cups (or more) Fresh Spinach

・2 tablespoons Nutritional yeast

・1 teaspoon vegetable powder broth

・1 teaspoon salt

・1/2 cup unsweetened soy milk

・1/3 cup water


Instructions


Heat the olive oil(or skip if you prefer oil free),

saute garlic on medium heat until they are tender and soft.





















Boiled spinach for 1-2 minutes

Put cooked garlic, spinach and all the rest of ingredients into a food processor.






















Blend it until smooth and creamy stopping to scrape the sides and add more salt as needed.





















Add less water if you like it to be thicker for crackers or bread!


Enjoy!!


Bye Cha

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page